Setting Up a Mac User Account for Building Web Apps

When I start a new project, I like a fresh and uncluttered workspace, so I created a new user account on my Mac. I needed development tools, so I added Firefox, Locomotive, iTerm, TextMate, and Navicat to the application dock.

Firefox needs a few extras to be useful for web development, so I added the HTML Validator extension (so I can check if my HTML pages conform to standards), the del.icio.us bookmarks extension (so I can get to my haphazardly organized collection of important reference web pages), and the Firebug extension (which is the only practical way I’ve found to figure out what’s going on with any complicated web page).

iTerm needed my favorite easy-on-the-eyes font, so I installed Inconsolata 14.

All that took about an hour.

Comments are closed.

